Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 75

Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 71

Warning: Memcache::add() [memcache.add]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 65
Vermont Castings Review - Puffs of Smoke - WinterWarm fireplace Insert
Vermont Castings Review

Vermont Castings Review

ADVERTISEMENT

Puffs of Smoke - WinterWarm fireplace Insert


In December of 1989, I purchased a Vermont Castings large Model 1280 Winter Warm Fireplace insert. It has served me well for more than two decades. A few days ago, I built a fire to take the chill out of the house. The damper was closed, the fans were running; and the gaseous fire inside seemed to swirl around and then with a muted "pop" smokey gas was pushed out into the room.

I'm afraid to start another fire. Please advise and thank you very much!


Share This Review:



         


Is this your Business? Claim Your Business Free and reply to this customer

CONTACT THIS BUSINESS

Post a reply for this review COMMENT
WRITE to Vermont Castings
SUBMIT a ticket
for Vermont Castings
WATCH videos
for Vermont Castings
More Vermont Castings Reviews and Complaints MORE reviews and complaints
for Vermont Castings

BUSINESSES REPLY HERE

Company was claimed GREAT NEWS, this company has Partnered with MeasuredUp and uses it to answer you!
Link to MeasuredUp BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Excellence Badge
Take the pledge BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Pledge Badge
Upgrade Account BUSINESSES: Build your customer service online reputation


ADVERTISEMENT


Comments


hawk says: (4 years ago)
 0
I have had that happen to me as well. I solve the problem by opening the damper and it goes away.

I was just reading in the literature and noticed that they said this is caused by inadequate draft probably as a result of not enough combustion air. Try cracking a window near the fireplace or install an outside air kit, if you can find one. I think the draft could also be restricted by a bad combustor. One of the two because your stove is hot enough to be creating smoke but the smoke is hanging in the combustion chamber and igniting once in a while causing a small explosion. Seals are designed for negative pressure in the stove not positive pressure. Stop fixing your seals. If you were actually successful at holding in the pressure, your fireplace might blow up. I'm thinking this might be worse than smoke in the house.



Northeast says: (5 years ago)
 0
My winter warm started to fill my home with smoke. I observed the unit and saw that the smoke was coming out from right top right of the door when the damper was closed.
I examined all of the gaskets and alignments. I placed a very bright flashlight into the unit and shut the door to see if I could "see the light". The stove had shifted. The reveal (space between the door seal and unit) was not uniform. There was a wider gap where the smoke was coming out.
I took the right hand and the top panels off. The firebox and dressing are held together with bolts just inside these panels. The dressing has open slots where the bolts go. By loosening these bolts then pushing the dressing closer to the firebox and retightening them I was able to make the reveal uniform around the entire door opening.
I them adjusted the door latch by loosening the nut, adjusting the bolt and then retightening the nut so that the door shut tight.
I haven't had a problem since.
Oh, my chimney pipe only goes half way up too. Haven't touched it.



idonotwanttodothis says: (6 years ago)
 0
This happened to me and I, too, was afraid to have a hot fire... So, last year, I had my chimney cleaned, I had the door seal replaced, the damper seal replaced, my catalytic converter--while original--was fine. So, we wondered, what could cause this backdraft issue?

When the folks cleaning & repairing the insert (Vermont Casting approved folks) inspected the chimney, they observed that the installers of my insert (17 years ago) did not run the metal pipe (that runs out the top of the insert) all the way up to the top of the chimney. I have a very tall chimney. I had a bunch of creosote as well.

They cleaned all of that, and recommended that I run the round metal cylinder all the way up to the top of the chimney instead of just part way. I already had a good chimney cap, so I was good on that. So, they put a one piece stainless steel insulated liner up the length of my chimney, sealing it well at the point of meeting with the insert and at the top where it met the chimney cap.

After cleaning the insert, replacing the gasket at the door, installing a liner the length of the chimney, I have had absolutely no issues. So what was the problem? I am still wondering that. I know the door seals needed replacing so the firebox was not tight. I know the airflow was not tight up the chimney. I know the seal on the damper was bad. I know the problem was evidenced only there when the fire reached a hot temp and I was trying to close the damper/use the c converter/and burn the smoke. I do know that it was not a catalytic converter issue. So there we are.

Last night was our first fire of this season, it was a breeze to start, I was able to shut down the oxygen to it and it lasted well into the early hours of the morning.

Now. After saying all that, know that I have had this large winterwarm since 1993. Only in the last two years have I ever had any issue with it at all. It heats well, quickly, is easy to clean out and I have loved it. It is located in the middle of our house in a vaulted room with a ceiling fan that I use to distribute the heat from the insert. When we finished our attic, I had the hvac folks add a return in the ceiling where I can draw the heat out of the vault into the upstairs as needed. I do not let folks play with it who do not understand how to use it. It has always been "adult driven". I think that is important as it does generate quite a bit of heat. It may also be why my catalytic converter is still functional.

I hope this helps.



Woodman says: (7 years ago)
 0
Sounds like this may be a common problem with these heaters. We are having the same issues with our 6 year old unit. I replaced the seals but it didn't help. I'm thinking a pressurized combustion event is causing this and maybe the catalytic unit needs replacement, they are not cheap. For now I fabricated a simple device that keeps the damper just very slightly cracked open to relieve this pressure and have not had any more problems. Besides this issue, this has been a great heater and will easily burn 6-8 hours with a dry good quality wood fuel.



BraveDave says: (8 years ago)
 0
This has happened to me a few times. I believe it occurs when there is either a backdraft or combustion of smoke in the chimney. Make sure all your seals are good. I replaced the seal around the damper. Also replace you catalytic converter element, as it requires replacement every so often. It is what combusts any smoke not burned in the stove. You can tell how well it is working by checking outdoors at how much smoke is coming from the chimney when the stove is at a full burn with the damper closed. Hasn't happened to me in a few years after replacing the damper seal. Good luck!



BraveDave says: (8 years ago)
 0
This has happened to me a few times. I believe it occurs when there is either a backdraft or combustion of smoke in the chimney. Make sure all your seals are good. I replaced the seal around the damper. Also replace you catalytic converter element, as it requires replacement every so often. It is what combusts any smoke not burned in the stove. You can tell how well it is working by checking outdoors at how much smoke is coming from the chimney when the stove is at a full burn with the damper closed. Hasn't happened to me in a few years after replacing the damper seal. Good luck!



Berniesiegel says: (8 years ago)
 0
Hello,
Not sure if my post was successful so trying again. I have the same wintewarm about 16 years old and the same situation as you described is now happening to me. Could you share what you may have learned as to the cuase before I start my quest to find out?

Thanking you in advance,
Bernie



Berniesiegel says: (8 years ago)
 0
Hello,

I purchased my insert about 16 years ago and what you described in your review is starting to happen to mine exactly as you described it. Have you learned the cause? I am shocked that Vermont Castings doesn't even list a phone number on their web site . Thank you for any wisdom you can share

Berni in NY




login with Facebook and share your reviews

More Vermont Castings reviews


More

Similar reviews


[Top]

Bookmark/Share this page

This page is under construction.
It will be up and running soon with new features to make you smile more.
Thanks,
The MeasuredUp Team